Superschwarzes Mannheim; My First Goth Event

Standard
SSM Poster

Mannheim Super Black

The Superschwarzes Mannheim (shortened to SS Mannheim, ironically) is a Gothic Party held monthly in MS Connexion, an event building which consists of 2 floors. The party has 6 different dance floors, each with a different theme, ranging from Cyber to Industrial. The event itself starts from 22:00 until 04:00, just as the night started till dawn. Ticket costs 8 EUR, and it’s worth every cent.

To think that a week before the event, I invited several friends of mine from the Deutschkurs to attend the party with me. Their response? “Nooo! You can’t go there! It’s creepy, scary and they’re GERMAN GOTHS! Are you saying you’re a Goth too? Hahaha! The German Goths are more extreme than any Goths out there!”

Now I myself have been a huge fan of the Goth subculture, especially their fashion choice. The very first time I had a contact to a Goth subculture was through manga, hence my influence in the culture is mostly from Japanese Death Metal bands and Gosurori* fashion. I have no idea of any western Goth bands out there, except for some classics like Faith & The Muse or Siouxsie & The Banshees. To be honest, I was really nervous in attending my very first Gothic event ever in the west. I’ve been really interested in this subculture ever since my early teenage years, yet this was my very first time to be in a so-called Goth club. It was like a christening to me, and I actually felt like this was really, really important to be accepted in the community. (Yeah, I took myself too seriously like that)

I’ve decided to wear a 50’s-inspired corset dress by Living Dead Souls and Frankenstein Cameo Lace Mary Jane by T.U.K. Shoes, because I feel so much more comfortable dressing in a Gothabilly* fashion than any other choices out there. It’s mostly because of my body shape, but then again I don’t see any appeal in dressing myself as a Cyber* or Gosurori, for example. They’re just not made for me. So my very first Goth “christening” I’ve decided to go in my most favorite fashion choice; The 50’s with a dark twist.

This is how I look with the dress and the make up. Take note that this picture was taken AFTER the party, on 04:30 in the morning, and I couldn’t care less of my messy bed. I smartly forgot to take a picture before I went to MS Connexion, but then again, after all that moshing and dancing, my hair and make up looks almost the same when I first put ’em on.

Continue for picture…

Other details: Oriental-style dragon pendant, 2 Red Rose hairpins.

And when I went to event with some friends, the very first feeling I had was… home. I love that place. I enjoyed the music, enjoyed the drinks and most importantly I LOVE THE CLOTHES! I don’t know if this sounds like a stalking-fan or what, but I could name several of my favorite clothes brand worn by other people even in the dark. Give me a bit more lighting and I could probably name their shoes too (lol).

I saw lots and lots of Goths in different stereotypes. From a bunch of Cybers to Gosurori. From TradGoths* to CorpGoths* (always one of my fave). I was happy even when I didn’t do any dancing and watching these people and their clothes from the sidelines. They’re dark, eerie and beautiful. Breathtakingly beautiful with striking confidence. After all, to most of the guests there, this might be that rare event where all the Goths gather with no fashion boundary.

I’ll be sure to be coming back in the future. Heck, even next week I’m going to visit Wir Tanzen Schwarz (We Dance Black) in Schwimmbad Heidelberg.

Märkä Suukko,

Madame Qikas

Madame Qikas

*Dumbed-down version of Goth stereotypes taken from http://blackwaterfall.com

** If you want to see photos of the event, go to Helter Skelter website.

Comment on...

